Netflix announces ad-supported plans for 12 countries

Netflix has announced a new tier of subscriptions for viewers called ‘basic with ads’. It will be launched in 12 countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Spain, the UK and the US.

The plan will be priced monthly according to the country. While in the US, it costs $6.99 per month, the price in Canada is $5.99. In the UK, users will have to pay £4.99 each month.

Price list per country:

  • Australia – 6.99 Australian dollars
  • Brazil – 18.90 Brazilian Real
  • Canada – 5.99 Canadian Dollars
  • France – 5.99 Euros
  • Germany – 4.99 Euros
  • Italy – 5.49 Euros
  • Japan – 790 Japanese Yen
  • Mexico – 99 Mexican Peso
  • South Korea – 5,500 South Korean Won
  • Spain – 5.49 Euros
  • United Kingdom – 4.99 Pounds
  • United States – 6.99 Dollars

Canada and Mexico will get the plan on November 1. Australia, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, South Korea, UK and USA release is November 3, before launching in Spain on November 10. 

The new Netflix plan will introduce a few limitations. The resolution is restricted to 720p, while each hour will include 4-5 minutes of ads, with each ad lasting 15-30 seconds.

A portion of the content will not be accessible due to licensing conditions. The streaming service stated that it was working on overcoming this.

Also Read: The Russo Brothers’ upcoming Netflix film ‘The Electric State’ begins filming

More from The Envoy Web