Web of Make Believe: Death, Lies and the Internet: Release date, synopsis, trailer & more

Web of Make Believe: Death, Lies and the Internet follows chilling stories of people who fell for the lies on the internet and started believing in the dark deception the digital world presented in the form of reality.

Release date

The 6-part anthology series will stream on Netflix from June 15, 2022.


Directed by Brian Knappenberger

Produced by Luminant Media and Imagine Documentaries


“Conspiracy. Fraud. Violence. Murder. What starts out virtual can get real all too quickly — and when the web is worldwide, so are the consequences. Web of Make Believe: Death, Lies and the Internet is a 6-part anthology series that tells stories of people caught in the dark and twisted web of modern misinformation and digital deception.”

“Haunting, bizarre and up-to-the-moment relevant, the series explores consequences of “SWATing”, takes a chilling trip down the rabbit hole of white supremacy, joins a Federal hunt for the suspect of a brazen IRS heist and dives into Russian election interference. Rich with distinctive characters and surprising plotlines, reality is distorted when the ordinary American household collides with a chaotic web of misinformation.”

Other details

The episodes are titled- “Death by SWAT”, “A Murder in D.C”, “The Stingray”, “I’m Not a Nazi” and “Sextortion”. Knappenberger is known for his work on Turning Point: 9/11 and the War on Terror.


The magic of the internet can take you to places darker than anything you have ever imagined. Misinformation and deception are the greatest weapons in the arsenal of lurkers on the internet who feed on the naivety and innocence of the uninitiated.

Well, what happens when ordinary citizens get trapped in the mysteries of the internet? Chaos ensues.

Also Read: Vecna’s curse from Stranger Things season 4 explained

More from The Envoy Web