Navarasa on Netflix: 9 emotions featured in 9 stories

Netflix released the official trailer for its upcoming Tamil anthology film, Navarasa. It is set to release on the streamer on August 6.

The Navarasa trailer offers viewers a sense of the scope of this Netflix anthology, which has notable filmmakers and performers working together on nine short films themed on nine ‘rasas’ (emotions).

Anger, compassion, courage, contempt, fear, laughing, love, peace, and wonder are the nine rasas or human emotions.

The anthology is a one-of-a-kind project aimed at providing assistance to Tamil film workers who have been affected by the pandemic.

Arvind Swami, Bejoy Nambiar, Gautham Vasudev Menon, Karthik Subbaraj, Karthick Naren, Priyadarshan, Rathindran R Prasad, Sarjun, and Vasanth S Sai are among the nine filmmakers who have embarked on a journey to bring each rasa to life.

Suriya and filmmaker Gautham Menon reunite after a decade for a short named Guitar Kambi Mele Nindru in Navarasa. Their tale revolves around the feeling of love.

While the short directed by Bejoy Nambiar is named Ethiri and stars Vijay Sethupathi, Yogi Babu feature in the short Summer of 92, directed by legendary director Priyadarshan. According to reports, it is based on a genuine story.

Project Agni is the title of Karthick Naren’s sci-fi drama short. The primary actors are Arvind Swami and Prasanna. In the short film Thunintha Pin, directed by Sarjun, Atharvaa Murali plays the lead role.

Arvind Swami makes his directorial debut with Rowthiram, a short film starring Rythvika in the lead role of a constable. Siddharth and Parvathy work together for the first time in Rathindran Prasad’s Inmai.

Peace, directed by Karthik Subbaraj and starring Bobby Simhaa and Gautham Menon, is said to be based on the LTTE. The primary characters in Vasanth’s Payasam are Delhi Ganesh and Rohini.

Watch the official trailer for Navarasa:

Also Read: Shershaah on Prime Video: Ode to Captain Vikram Batra